Where in the world is Momthletic?

It’s 224am and I have been awake for almost an hour. Little man is laying in bed kicking and my mamma is fast asleep next to us.

For the next 2 weeks I am traveling back to my parents for our family reunion which will be the first time my little man will meet a majority of the family. Been looking forward to this for awhile. The only downside of this trip is that our schedule is getting jacked up. Little man doesn’t have HIS crib or HIS swing so we, well I am suffering from not being able to sleep through the night in addition to no long morning naps. Don’t get me wrong, I love coming home to see my family. It’s just a rough transition for my little man.

Since I have been home, I haven’t been able to leave my little man to head to the gym. He is having a little bit of a rough time traveling and wants to be with his mamma all the time. He’s feeding often for comfort. At least that’s my theory.

I was able to take him for a short walk the other day but it got way too hot. I didn’t feel it was safe for him so I rushed home. It probably wasn’t a good idea for me either. Going to the gym is kind of out of the question right now because I don’t have any frozen breast milk here in case little man gets hungry. I didn’t exactly have room in my luggage for my big *ss breast pump. But at the same time, I won’t be gone long. I just hate the thought of him crying. If he is fed, has a clean diaper and not injured, then he just needs to cry it out. I’m sure all first time moms go through this too.

Since I won’t leave to go to the gym, I made sure he was fed, comfortable, put him in a swing then headed outside. If I didn’t get a good sweat going I was going to go crazy!

The Sweat

Run 800m
50 air squats
25 burpees
Run 400m
50 sit-ups
25 push-ups
Run 200m

Time 16:11

image

This was modified from Yankee CrossFit. All I needed was water, Phideaux (pronounced Fido because my father likes to be difficult like that) and a street to run on. Even if you don’t have weights at home, it’s easy to modify just about any workout. I have nothing here other than an old jump rope from 25 years ago. I do what I can.

As for food, I come from a family of healthy eaters. We have a garden and an orchard up at the farm which provides lots of fresh veggies and fruits, most of which ends up getting canned or frozen. So I’m doing pretty good in that regard. It makes the homemade ice cream and pie with gooseberries from the farm taste so much better!

Leave a Reply

