It was nice to be home

Finally back from spending 18 days back home with my family. It was a great time and was nice to have a break from the puppies. Don’t get me wrong, I love my doggies but cleaning up after 4 of them in addition to an infant is draining.

Whenever I travel back home in the summertime, there is always an abundance of veggies coming from the farm. Lettuce, radishes, peas, green beans, cucumbers, potatoes, peppers; basically one gigantic salad. And those who know me know I love a good salad.
20140703_194300
Can’t forget to mention those farm fresh eggs. Oh my goodness….have you ever? Those creamy, rich little blobs of sunshine on my plate. I know what your thinking. Your thinking, there is no way I can eat “bad” when I come home. Think again.

My mamma is a fantastic baker. She whips up banana muffins like its nothing. She tends to make them a little healthier using substitutions but that goes out the window if you eat half a dozen. Which I can easily do. I believe I ate 3 of her banana muffins one morning and had to hold back so others could have some. The worst part? She doesn’t always write down how she made them so chances are if you like something she made, you might not get the same thing next time she makes it.

I’ll never forget that one time she made lemon poppyseed bread. Key phrase “that one time”. She’s never made it again.

I tried to be good. I really did. But then my father got this amazing idea to make homemade ice cream to go with the fresh gooseberry pie. Because what else do you do with gooseberries? (Evidently he had made enough jelly). So we started with one batch which was fantastic. It dad wanted to tweak the recipe a little. Which brought us to our second batch and it was just as delicious!

At first I was kicking myself in the *ss for eating all of this because I told myself I would stick to my 16 blocks a day. Ha! That’s rich! We always eat together. That’s how we were raised. So as my sister is making dinner for the 9 of us, I’m not going to watch over her shoulder and ask her to use so many teaspoons of EVOO nor am I going to make myself a separate dish. I’m going to enjoy every delicious morsel put in front of me. How often do I get to being my family like this? Minimum 2 times a year, 3 if I’m lucky.

So after 18 days of eating relatively good thanks to the garden, a few homemade treats here and there and only 2 trips to the gym, I was convinced I had put on at least 5 pounds. I did a few home WODs and walked with my little man often but it wasn’t the same workout as I am used to. So here I am back home on the East Coast and to my surprise, I didn’t put on a pound! Yay…but what?!? Maybe they are on to this “reverse dieting” thins (http://macrofit.com/reverse-dieting/)

Just maybe.

IMG_20140704_111613

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

