Lactation Smoothie

I keep hearing about lactation cookies and how the brewers yeast in them is supposed to help increase your milk supply. Not only do I want to increase my milk supply so I can pump more for when I go back to work but I also love cookies. I have read two different bits of info; one stating that the brewers yeast is the most important ingredient and another stating that a combination of the brewers yeast, oatmeal and flaxseed.

The problem with the cookies, I am too lazy to go to the store and get the baking soda, baking powder and cream of tartar. When I go to the store, I make a beeline to my usual aisles; produce, meat and dairy. I thank the Lord if I can make it through the store before the little dude starts fussing. He always freaks out on me because he doesn’t like being in a carrier. I have tried the Ring Sling, Baby Bjorn and the Moby. But that is another post.

So, of the 3 ingredients all I had was the oatmeal and brewers yeast. Thanks to Pinterest, I found that I can use them in a smoothie and you know I LOVE my smoothies!

Lactation Smoothie (~3 block smoothie with a little extra carb)
Milk, 1 Cup
1/2 Tblsp Brewers Yeast
1/2 scoop Protein Powder (I’m now using NutriForce Chocolate Whey Protein http://nutriforcesports.com/categories/recovery/nutriwhey)
1/2 Frozen Banana
Handful of oats
1 tsp peanut butter
Ice cubes

Blend like crazy and slurp that baby up with a straw!

I was pleasantly suprised with how good this was. Will definitely make another one tomorrow morning!

IMG_20140713_075613

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

