Avocado Dressing

My Mamma makes the best stuff, really. Even if she finds the recipe online (in this case Food.com), she tweaks it to make it her own. De. Lish.

I, for the most part, stopped using salad dressings a few years ago. I like using just EVOO, salt and pepper on my salads. When using EVOO, if you have a hard boiled egg on your salad, it kind of makes a “dressing” on its own when you toss it. Ever notice that?

On my salads, I tend to have avocado as well. When using both EVOO and avocado, be weary of how much fat is going on your salad. It’s easy to go overboard. That was until my Mamma introduced me to an avocado dressing. It was so good, I put it on more than just my salad. I used it on my sandwiches…I even dipped my grilled chicken in it!

And was SHOCKED when I read the recipe. You will be too.

Avocado Dressing
1 ripe avocado
3/4 C water
1 tsp lime zest
3 Tblsp lime juice
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
2 green onions, chopped
1 clove garlic

Throw everything in a blender and blend til smooth. Adjust seasonings.

Eat by the Tablespoon although you might be tempted to pour it heavily over your salad.

Enjoy!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

