Will I become “that” woman?

This post is a bittersweet one. Today is the last day of my maternity leave. Oh my heart…..

On the plus side, I am allowed to work from home (some of the time) and my husband will be watching our little dude. That is making my transition back to work easier. Then my Mamma comes out for a week *happy dance* and she will do what miyas do; spoil, play, rock and do all the things that grandmas do with their little grandbabies.

When I decided to write this blog, I did so because I was having a hard time finding a blogger that I could relate to. One who works full-time, is a mamma, trains and has the time to blog about it. People would ask me all the time about working out and eating healthy when they have kids and I always said the same thing; “If you really want it, you will make the time.” Ahem……easier said than done.

As I sit in the quiet at 5am breastfeeding my son trying to figure out how I’m going to do this, I panic. I love to workout but not if it is going to keep me away from my son for an additional 1-2 hours after I’ve already been working an 8 hour day.

All I want is to be with my son as much as I possibly can at home (minimizing his time in daycare), while working 8 hours and working out. Is that too much to ask? Yes, it kind of is.

I am racking my brain trying to put together a plan when really, it doesn’t happen that way. It’s going to go the way my little man wants it to. If things could go my way, this would be my day.
Wake up at 5am for feeding
530 start working from home (little guy playing quietly on the floor next to me)
7am feeding
730-830am try to get him down for his LONG NAP. These can go anywhere from 3-5 hours.
Work until 1-2pm when he wakes up, feed him then take him to daycare where he can stay until about 6pm.
While he is at daycare, I finish working, workout then pick him up.

And this is assuming I showered and laid out my clothes the night before.

Am I going to become that Mamma that says she doesn’t have time to workout? Am I going to practice what I preach and get up an hour earlier to get a workout in? I guess I could but did my son let me sleep the night prior? So many determining factors here.

I guess we will find out, starting tomorrow.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

