Week one in the books!

Happy Monday!

First week back to work is now in the books! My mamma came out for the week to watch B (my little man) which is why I was not an emotional roller coaster. On top of her bonding with her 9th grandchild, she and I did a bit of cooking and I was also able to get to the box 3 times, go for a walk twice and do 2 home WODs. Pretty nice, eh?

I love cooking with my ma. Earlier I posted the spaghetti squash that she made for me. 1 word; Yum. Last night we sauteed mushrooms and onions then seared thin strips of steak on top of that.

…..then…..we got a 8.5 pound pork shoulder ready to make some pulled pork. *evil snickering* This house is going to smell GREAT today! My oven would be better if it came with a lock because sometimes I get too excited and want to pull food out earlier than I should. Can you tell I struggle with patience?

I was able to keep my hands to myself and this is what became of that pork. Oh my gah…..
image

The recipe needs some tweaking but this is what we did:
Cut dually diagonally across the fat cap making diamond shapes. Squirt a few tablespoons of yellow mustard and massage all over the pork shoulder.
The dry rub:
In a bowl combine
6 tablespoons paprika
2 tablespoon garlic powder
2 tablespoons brown sugar
6 tablespoons coarse sea salt

Mix the rub together and massage onto the pork shoulder. Cover in saran wrap and let sit in fridge overnight.

Put in 300* oven for 6 hours or until the temp reads 170* and the meat shreads.
* next time I will only use 3 tablespoons of salt.
** we did not use all the rub

Basically I just wanted to make a bunch of meats to have ready to eat this week. Veggies are never a problem because I like eating them raw anyway. I’m getting a little burnt out on eggs, deli meat and chicken. Wouldn’t you?

Like I mentioned, I got a bit of sweat going too last week. Very happy about that. I actually joined a team for the “Mommy and Me” step challenge. For someone who works out as much as I do, I am actually quite lazy. I work at a desk 40 hours a week and love watching the Food Network and Cooking Channel. On an average day, I’m lucky to even hit 5k steps! In case you didn’t know, 10k is recommended. This challenge is good for me because a) I don’t like to look bad in front of other people and b) I love seeing that number climb to 10k.

One thing I wish that pedometer did was track my steps while I’m pacing with B. I can only imagine how much that adds up to!

The Sweat
Sunday’s home WOD was posted on 7/20/14. No use posting again

Monday was spent working on a snatch balance. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Kcend-O21w No this isn’t me)
5 sets of 1 snatch balance then 2 overhead squats with a 3 second hold at the bottom of each movement. I got up to 115# to my surprise. Go me.
Then the WOD:
8 min AMRAP of
4 Power snatch at 75#
8 Bar facing burps

I got 6 rounds plus 4 power snatches

Tuesday we worked on our handstands. Did a TABATA of handstand holds. TABATA means 20 seconds of work with a 10 second rest for 4 minutes. In other words, 8 rounds. My shoulders were on fire and my head dizzy.
The WOD:
Run 1 mile then do “Annie” which is:
50-40-30-20-10
Double Unders
Abmat sit ups

For this one, you have 12 minutes to run the mile. After you finish running the mile, you rest the remainder of the 12 minutes before you start “Annie”. I got 7:51 on the run and 6:31 for “Annie”. My PR for “Annie” is 5:41 so this made me very happy!

Thursday we worked on our strict press, one of my weaker movements.
3 sets of 3 strict press at 85#. Eh.

The WOD was Fight Gone Bad. 3 rounds of:
Wall Balls 14#
Sumo Deadlift High Pulls 55#
Box Jumps 20″
Push Press 55#
Row for Calories
1 minute rest

1 minute at each station then immediately move to the next. Rest 1 minute at the end then repeat for 3 rounds. Score is total number of reps plus calories. I got 279 which is a PR for me.

Then Sunday. I had to give myself a pep talk for 3 days for this! I did the Triple 3 (a 2014 Games WOD)
Row 3000m
300 double unders
3 mile run
This I finished in 53:53.

I’m surprised I can walk today.

Leave a Reply

