Sleep is overrated anyway

I was absolutely positively exhausted. Like “I have a newborn baby” exhausted. B has been keeping me up the past several nights but last night was the worst. You remember in college when you would pull all-nighters for finals and the next day you would be so tired that you have a headache and cold sweats? Yeah, that tired.

I always read that to those who don’t get enough sleep tend to gain weight and I could never really wrap my head around why. Until this past week. When I’m tired, I don’t want to take the time and energy to plan and make my meals. I’m going to grab whatever is convenient. I still did pretty good this week but by Friday I said “f*ck it” and ate half a box of granola.

In one sitting. Actually, in one bowl.

Do I do it everyday? No. Do I have a weight problem? Not at all. But it was what I was craving, it was easy and by golly I felt a little better after. My beloved raw peppers just weren’t going to cut it.

So you would think while B naps, I should nap right? I’m laying in bed but I have a headache that is getting worse because I’m thinking about all the things I need to do to get B ready for daycare tomorrow…..and me for work.

I need diapers, wipes, bottles, bottle drop-ins, frozen breast milk, supplements, updated paperwork from doctor, 2 outfits….what am I forgetting?

For me, have to finish the laundry, pack my gym bag, make my lunch and shower. What the heck am I going to wear? I don’t even know what fits!

Then I started thinking of the things I need to talk to my boss about during out meeting on Tuesday……

Oh snap, I can’t forget about all those projects I need to finish since I was out for 4 months so I make a list of those in my head too.

Did I get to nap? No. I shot right out of bed and started writing down the 4 lists. Headache slowly started to go away when the little man woke up screaming.

Then all the stress and endless lists seem to disappear when I walk in the nursery and B giggles when he sees me.

I think a brisk walk is just what we both need.

Leave a Reply

