Baby comes first

I got my first dose of experiencing all of the excuses that I hear others make.  I have been spoiled up until this point and the reality of our new situation (being a parent) is sinking in.  You saw Monday’s WOD kick my *ss and a good thing it did because the rest of my week did not go as planned.  I knew I was not able to go to the box on Tuesday or Wednesday, so I planned to go on Thursday and Friday.

The short version;  it didn’t happen.

The long version; Tuesday and Wednesday had passed and no gym.  I did however, get a short run in. A very slow, ugly run but a run nonetheless. Wednesday night B got a fever.   And the rules for his daycare are that he had to be fever-free for 24 hours without medicine before he can come back.   In other words,  he’s staying home with me Thursday. 

Now I may be selfish at times but not selfish enough to leave my sick child to go workout.  So Thursday B got my undivided attention…..as he should. 

Actually, undivided attention after I made this
image

I’ve got to eat darn it! I got this recipe from my Martha Stewart magazine. I roasted a whole chicken with sweet taters, onion and cauliflower. The recipe called for pancetta (which I didn’t have) so I threw in some bacon. Why? Because bacon.

Then Friday comes. B has been fever-free for 24 hours but now I think his temperate is too low. Before you roll your eyes, pretty much all first time mommies go through this. I learn as I go. But because I was on the phone trying to get ahold of his doctor, we were late for daycare which made me miss class. So I finally take advantage of the other gym I am a member of.

I really don’t like going to a globogym anymore. Im not that girl that goes to the gym in full makeup, hair done, matching clothes and spends 45 minutes on the elliptical. Goddammit Im gonna move some serious weight! So you can imagine how irritating it is when the guys just sit around and stare.

Lets keep it moving along……

The Sweat
The show they got was me working on my clean and jerks. I only got up to 125# because there wasn’t enough room on the platform for me to do a split jerk. Plus my wrist is HURTING! Crap.

Then because those cool kids are standing around the racks talking, I just did back squats with the bar from the ground. 1 set of 20 at 95#

I honestly believe some people think just walking into the gym builds muscles. Seriously, lift or go home.

Then to really throw those guys off, I did negative chin-ups because how often do you see chicks doing chin-ups? Your welcome ladies.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

