Cleaning out the freezer

So next week I am starting a 28 day challenge with a few people from my gym. And no it’s not Shakeology or Advocare. This involves delicious wholesome food and lots of it. I have been on the Zone for quite a few years and it’s been great but I feel like I need a fresh start.

I am by NO means complaining! I actually did my body fat measurement earlier this week and I’m at 18%-19% which is pretty good! And I’m only about 5 lbs more than before I got pregnant. Performance at the gym is great and I’m back to hitting my old PR’s!

Even if I lost that last 5 lbs, I’m still going to have that post baby jiggle. My body composition is different, as I expected too. Not everyone bounces back in 30 days like the supermodels do. *major eye roll*

So with this challenge, I get to see a Nutritionist who is also a trainer at my Box. Basically my meal plan is similar to Zone but portion sizes are a tad bigger. (Score!) I’m pretty excited to try out new meals. My current meal plan is getting a bit boring. Only thing that I am going to struggle with is no fruit in the evenings. Yes, the struggle is real.

So until this challenge starts, I am cleaning out my freezer. And by cleaning, I mean eating. I had a leftover zucchini lasagna that my sister froze for me when B was born. Just threw that baby in the oven yesterday…holy cheesy goodness.
image

I took a chance and licked the cheese off the aluminum straight out of the oven. No injuries!

The Sweat
9/16/14
No running before class today but instead did some back and core work before class started.
We did a little gymnasty work today.
EMOM 10 Alternating movements:
Strict Toes to Bar (sub knees to elbows) 7-10 reps
Ring Rows 5-7 reps

-then-

3 rounds for time of:
21 Box Jumps 20″
12 Chest to Bar
Run 400 m

…and may I add this was in the rain which was awesome! Many complained but I actually prefer running in the rain and snow. Weird? Maybe.

9/17/14
Ran 2 miles before class today then did some mobility work.
Started class off with a little snatch. *giggle*
EMOM 8 of:
1 power snatch + 1 snatch balance + 1 overhead squat at some where around 85#.

Snatch pulls – 3×3 at 110#

-then-

AMRAP 8 of:
5 dumbbell thrusters (30# each hand)
10 burpees

By Thursday, I was draggin’ *ss. My brain was saying “Yippee! Let’s workout!” but my body was saying “HELL NAH!”. So I didn’t. And the hour nap I took in place of gym time was amazing. It was one of those naps where you are snoring before your head hits the pillow.

9/19/14
I gotta get one more in before the weekend since my weekend workouts are never guaranteed.

Ran a quick mile before class then worked on mobility
Clean grip (double overhand) deadlifts. 2 reps every 2 times x 5 at 215#

-then-

3 rounds of
25 Wall Balls (14#)
Run 200m
10 Hang Power Clean (95#)
Rest 2 minutes

Aim for unbroken sets. 10:59.

Now I need to recruit the help of Google. Regretfully I was ad-libbing “I’ve been working on the railroad” to B this morning. I forgot who shouted “Dinah blow your horn” so I need to brush up on my children’s songs.

Enjoy the weekend!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

