Chocolate Pumpkin Cups

I’m a Pinterest addict. Who isn’t? I can easily pin random stuff for hours on end especially around the beginning of fall. Why? Because chunky sweaters, distressed boyfriend jeans, adorable baby Halloween costumes and pumpkin recipes. That’s why.

But what’s so interesting is that I don’t really even care for pumpkin, unless of course it’s a pumpkin spice latte from Starbucks. Which I am only allowed one per year, if that. So why did I pin the pumpkin cup? No idea but my step daughter LOVES anything and everything pumpkin so I decided to make them for her birthday.

Tweaked the recipe to make it “mine” 🙂

image

And I have to say, it looks like a pin-trocity but it was pretty tasty.  Of course I ate it too soon. Seems to be an ongoing problem with me.  C ate it tonight (after being in the freezer for 2 days) and said it was delicious.

1/2 cup raw almonds
1/2 cup canned pumpkin puree
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp clove
2 Tblsp agave nectar
about 4 oz of Hershey’s Special Dark chocolate chips
1/4 c milk

In a food processor, blend the almonds. I like to keep them in little bits so I get that nutty crunch when I bite into it.
Then add the pumpkin, agave and spices and continue to pulse until well mixed. Set aside.
In a saucepan, melt chocolate with milk on low heat. Stir often until silky smooth.
In a standard size muffin tin, place 6 liners and pour a small amount of chocolate on the bottom of each.
Set in freezer about 10 minutes until hard
Once frozen, add the pumpkin mix equally between all 6 then top with the remaining chocolate.
Put back in freezer for a few hours or until chocolate is set.

I plugged this recipe in My Fitness Pal and got the nutrition breakdown. (I seriously love this app!)

This recipe makes 6 servings. Each serving (1 cup) is:
201 calories
12.3 grams of Fat
22.1 grams of Carbs
3.4 grams of Protein

But really, if you want the original recipe, I have to credit mywholefoodlife.com.

Enjoy!

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Pumpkin Cups

  1. Ema Jones says:

    Can I add in some slivered pistachios?

Leave a Reply

