Let’s take a step back…….

….first thing I need to do is stop telling myself that I am burnt out.  It’ll only keep myself feeling burnt out.  Instead, I need to be excited about the changes I am going to be making.  Once I figure out what they are.  In the past 8 months, I have managed to continue to CrossFit at least 3 days a week.  Some weeks I did 4 or 5.  At about 7 months post partum I am back to my pre-pregnancy weight and feeling great!  I’ve been hitting PRs and my cardio is pretty much back to where it was before I got pregnant.  All good, right?

Yes…BUT…..that is a lot of focus and it gets draining.  On top of taking care of myself, I am working full time and taking care of my tiny human so my days are a blur.   I need a change….a break, if you will, so I can keep this fire burning.

I reached out to one of my trainer friends and asked him what he would do.  His first question was why I was struggling.  Oftentimes when people burnout, they aren’t making gains and not seeing any benefit from their hard work.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m seeing great gains but it’s just not tickling my fancy like it used to.  In the past few weeks, I hit my 165# power clean PR, did my first WOD with rope climbs, PR’ed my 2 mile run at 17:07…..all great right?  But when it becomes an unenthusiastic “yay” from me, I need some change.

NO I am not depressed. At all.  Very very happy Mamma here!  No postpartum depression (and yes I had considered that) So, what am I going to do?  I haven’t the slightest.  But one thing I DO know, I have got to watch my intake.

I am owning up to this one and not blaming the Holidays. I like cooking for other people.  It’s my way of taking care of them.  So when December rolls around, I tend to make Peppermint Bark with both white and dark chocolate.  Oh my that stuff is good!  It’s usually not a problem unless I don’t give it out fast enough.  I’m snacking on it a little more than a should because I have started having dreams where I am put on 20 pounds.

So while I fill myself with a baked sweet potato, spicy sauteed broccoli and over easy eggs….I’ll share my delicious Bark recipe with you…and hope that you have better willpower than I do.

1 – 12 oz bag of dark chocolate chips (I used Hershey’s Special Dark)
1 – 12 oz bag of white chocolate chips
2 tsp canola oil
1/2 cup coarsely broken candy canes (or mint candies)
1/2 tsp peppermint extract

Line a 10×15 jelly pan with aluminum foil
With water in a saucepan and over low heat, place a glass bowl on top making sure the water does not touch the bottom of the glass bowl.
Place dark chocolate chips in the glass bowl, stirring while it melts.
Once melted, pour the chocolate onto the baking sheet, spreading evenly over the pan.  Sprinkle with a small amount of the candy canes
Place baking sheet in the fridge for about 40 minutes.
Clean the glass bowl and place on top of the boiling water again (same as before) and melt the white chocolate.
While melting, add the canola oil and peppermint extract.
Once melted, grab the dark chocolate from the fridge and pour the white chocolate over the top of the dark.
Spread evenly with a spatula
Tap the baking sheet on the counter to get rid of any air bubbles
Sprinkle the rest of the candy cane over the top.  (press in for good measure)
Place the baking sheet back in to the fridge until set.
Break into pieces and serve.

Don’t blame me if you can’t stop!
image

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Let’s take a step back…….

  1. Phoenicia says:

    You write with such honesty and a great level of transparency. Thanks for the recipes. I am into healthy eating, though my only exercise is brisk walking.

    All the best with your blog!

Leave a Reply

