Happy New Year!

Not to sound like a Scrooge, but I don’t like resolutions. I hate them in fact. Whenever I see people make resolutions, I feel sad for them.

Allow me to explain.

More often than not, people make resolutions to lose weight, tone up, yada yada. If it was really that important to them, they should have already been working on it. Growing up, every year without fail, I resolved to lose 10 pounds, and every year I didn’t do it. It’s depressing and made me feel like crap when I looked back and didn’t do what I said I would. So I quit doing it. I never make resolutions to lose weight. Honestly, I don’t NEED to lose weight. I had unrealistic expectations. Unrealistic meaning Heidi Klum’s figure. That’s not me, that’s Heidi. I will never look like Heidi. So once I accepted that, I was happier.

Ever notice how packed the gym is around this time of year? How can you not? A good majority of those new members will drop out by the end of February. Why? Because they set unrealistic goals for themselves. They can’t keep up….they burn out…..they lose motivation.

So instead of saying, “I will lose 20 pounds this year” instead tell yourself that you will start going to the gym 3 times a week. Tell yourself you will cut back on the soda pop. Tell yourself you will go for more walks with the dogs. Make small attainable goals that will lead you to the big one. Plus, doesn’t it feel good to accomplish those goals?

While I no longer make weight loss resolutions, I do set different goals for myself. That being said, for the year of 2015 I resolve to:
– Run a half marathon (which I have already signed up for)
and
– go to the beach at least once (I only live 45 minutes away!!)

Happy New Year and may 2015 be your best year yet!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

