We don’t have “snow days”…we have “snow weeks”

We have been getting pounded with snow the past week. While everyone is stocking up on bread, here I am in the kitchen making veggie soup. Wouldn’t you rather eat a steaming bowl of this during a blizzard? image

I got this soup recipe off of Pinterest.  Isn’t that where we get everything now?  And a Pintrocity, this was NOT!   My husband is a picky eater and even he loved this.  Not only did I want to make this because it’s so freaking cold outside, I also wanted to make something that B could eat as well.  I don’t want to be that mother that makes one meal for me and an entirely other one for him.  We eat the same foods….together.

  • 2 1/2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped yellow onion (1 medium)
  • 2 cups peeled and chopped carrots (about 4)
  • 1 1/4 cups chopped celery (about 3)
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 28 oz of Daddy’s tomatoes (from the farm)
  • 2 medium potatoes diced (left the skin on)
  • 1/3 cup cilantro (because I didn’t have parsley)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped frozen green beans
  • 1 (14.5oz) can of corn
  • 1 cup frozen peas

Your house will smell GREAT but try not to start eating it until the carrots and potatoes are cooked.

And before you ask, “But where is your protein?”. Whenever I make soups, I tend to make my protein separate so I can measure it before I add.  So in this case, I had chicken on the side.

Because of this blizzard, B is home with me…which means I am struggling to get any work done. At home workouts aren’t happening around here and they need to. Living in the northeast, we are snowed in often and I get cabin fever pretty quickly. So in case you were wondering, what AM I doing? Snuggles for time. image And for some reason, It’s taking longer for me to get ready in the morning. I have found myself late getting out the door even though I have close to 3 hours to do so! So I started making refrigerator oats again.

2/3 cups old fashioned oats
2/3 cup coconut milk
1 scoop chocolate nutriwhey
Mix together and place in fridge overnight
12 – 16 almonds (add right before you eat)
This is what I have been eating with my coffee while B gets a YoBaby image Still struggling to find motivation to get to the box. But I’m getting there! Since I am only making it 3x a week, I need to decrease my macros. Im sure once the warmer weather returns, I’ll get to up the macros again. Well, mainly because that’s when I start training for the half marathon.

Pray for me. image

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

