FIguring out my “no-no” foods

Another Halloween has come and gone and I didn’t touch any candy.  Go mamma!

The past few months, I have been slacking a bit with my diet.  I’m not doing bad, just not measuring and being super strict like I tend to.  I wanted to relax a little bit and have fun with B, find a middle ground if you will.  Well, it didn’t turn out as I had hoped.  I don’t care about the few pounds that I have put on.  I do care about the fact that none of my pants fit comfortably and I feel like poo.  Yeah, poo.

Still performing well though.  Totally spanked that WOD when I was traveling to the Midwest.

I guess you can call this an experiment.  Throughout the year, I have gone from
– eating well, performing great, feeling “eh”
– eating well, performing well, feeling great
– eating okay, performing great, feeling “eh”
– eating okay, performing well, feeling great
– eating poorly, performing well, and of course feeling crap

I have noticed the past month, which foods are making me feel a certain way.  I never really noticed before but since I eat generally the same foods often, I can pin it down to what is making me feel “iffy” when I eat it.

Case in point, Cheerios.

During training, I was craving cereal something bad.  Little did I know, I needed the simple carbs after doing all that endurance training so I was eating Honey Nut Chex and was feeling great.  Well, training came to an end yet some cereals were still around the house.  Don’t all moms have Cheerios for their little ones?

So I started to nosh on Cheerios out of habit from training.  Holy Cheese and Crackers, that bloated me!  The second I figured that out, I stopped snacking on them. It’s not worth the discomfort.  Next!

Last week I went on vacation for a few days and then stayed with my mamma back home.  My family never ate bad.  We always had good stuff around.  Only thing I was ever deprived of was junk food.  Clarification, I felt deprived of it growing up but looking back, I applaud my parents for it.  Plus I got my junk food fix at my friends houses.

Back to the story; I ate well at Mammas house as I always do but I don’t tend to measure or count my macros.  “We were on a break!!” (in my best Ross Geller voice)  However I did notice that I was really amping up my fruit which wasn’t playing too well with me.  There were veggies available but I just didn’t want it.  It didn’t occur to me until I was reading “The Paleo Dieter’s Missing Link” by Adam Farrah, when he reinforced what I have been saying for years.  There is no one size fits all when it comes to following any form of “eating plan”.  I need my carbs but they need to be veggies with a little fruit.  Clearly, I do well with apples and bananas, but not grapes.

So here I am back home, at least for the time being because I’m headed back to my parents for Thanksgiving.  (YAY!!)  I’m not one to start getting all strict on myself during the holiday season but at least now I am paying attention to what isn’t sitting well with me.

And guess what I just did for the first time ever?

This.
image

Excuse the blurry picture…my arms were shaking BAD.  20 min AMRAP of 3 power cleans, 3 front squats and 3 shoulder to overhead at 125# . That’s why.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

