‘Tis the season of snug pants

Adulting is no joke.  I want to be a kid again.  Why is it too much to ask to just win the lottery so my bills will take care of themselves?

As you can tell by the lack of my posting, I have been insane busy.  On top of that, not inspired to write since my mind has been elsewhere.  That’s bound to happen from time to time.  Or I AM inspired to write but not physically able to.

I continue to attempt eating healthy and keep active over the holidays.  Ahem…note the italics.  Between my girl trip in October and going home for Thanksgiving, the scale went up 10#.  Ah well.  It could be worse!  Although my jeans are snug, I have continued to hit up the box at least 3 times a week.

I was thinking about this the other day as I try to put a plan together for after the holidays.  There are several factors to consider here.  But before we get into those, my food choices are healthy but my portions are not spot on.  Portioning my macros is key for me.  At 36, whoops, 37 years old, I still haven’t learned how to eat the right portions without tracking it.  Will I ever?  If you have any tips, feel free to tell me because quite frankly I feel like I’m forever chained to My Fitness Pal.

The “factors” at play here that are wrecking havoc on me are 1) I am breastfeeding less and 2) I’m not endurance training anymore.  Considering those 2 factors, I cannot justify my 8 ounce sweet tater with Kerrygold butter anymore.   That in mind, I have to rework my macros which I will take care of after the holidays.  I’m setting myself up for failure if I started now.

I decided to try something new and starting going to a new Barre3 studio in town.  I thought I had this.  Thought it would be no big deal, just something different.  I could not have been more wrong!  I had muscles on fire that I didn’t know existed!  It took everything in my power to not grimace and grunt….everyone else looked so graceful and proper.  Sheesh. And yes I went back.  3 more times.  I love challenges.  It ticks me off when I can’t do it which makes me want to do it more.  Competitive you say?  Yep.

Only reason I stopped going was because I had no more free classes left.  As much as I want to purchase a class package, I already belong to TWO CrossFit boxes.  Which brings me back to my original question, when am I going to win the goddamn lottery?!

Started playing around with food again.  Everyone is talking about this “bone broth” which my family has been making since…..forever?  Any time we make chicken, we always take the bones, throw it in a pot with water and herbs and cook for hours.  I’m reading that bone broth is to be cooked for at least 24 hours but we stick to about 3 or 4.

image

Doesn’t it look delightfully gross?  I had a 3# rotisserie chicken from BJ’s that I had polished of myself.  (Don’t tell me I’m the only one that tears through a chicken with their bare hands!)  I threw the skin in there for the hell of it. Came out fairly decent.  Of course it’s not as good as my Mamma’s.  Nothing ever is.

image

Between B and I, sweet potatoes are still a must-have around this house.  I end up making them by the bag.  Clean, poke with holes, rub with EVOO and sprinkle with salt.  425* for an hour or until done.  “Done” for me is when I can easily pierce it with a knife.

image

What you see here was an experiment with old bananas.  While I love banana bread, I don’t like it when I polish off an entire loaf by myself.  I had a sweet tooth….and I wanted something NOW so I found a recipe on pinterest using bananas, oatmeal, chocolate, coconut……and now as I am writing this I realize that I don’t have the recipe!  Which is okay because I didn’t necessarily like the cookie.

So why did I add it to this blog?  Because I’m an *sshole I guess.

Happy Holidays!

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

