Mommy’s (and Daddy’s) Day Off

Sundays are my husbands day off of work and we have coined it “family day” because quite honestly, it’s the only day of the week that we all get to hang out.  (He is off on Thursdays but I am working)

I was recently told that the closed captions at the local movie theaters aren’t as bad as when I last tried it 10 years ago. Back then, it was this glass flag contraption that you set in your drink holder and the…..actually, I don’t want to get into the details.  The short version; it was a royal PAIN and didn’t work for me.

Now they are like “google googles”.  I’ve never tried it but wanted to be a good sport. Plus it’s kind of ridiculous to complain about something you have never used before.

So the hubs got the babysitter situation all straightened out and off we went.

And just like that, my day of fun was shot down.  The theater was closed due to issues with the bathroom.  I wasn’t mad. I was disappointed and my husband could see that.

A few months ago I scheduled a massage/mani/pedi then my dog got an infected anal gland which required an emergency trip to the ER.  Then about a month ago, I had a hair appointment which I had to schedule 4 months out because this lady is booked….I broke my tooth the night before.  Now this.  #welcometoparenthood

In an effort to cheer me up, my husband came up with a fun solution.  He said that we could sit in the back of the minivan, eat our candy and have some “adult” time.  *wink wink*

BUT we ended up finding another movie theater (2 theaters later) and may I say that “Daddy’s Home” is a great movie!

….and we still had our “adult time” in the backseat.

Moral of the story, when you get a babysitter, make the most of it!

p.s. Do NOT buy those healthy “picnic” snack box thing-a-ma-jigs at the theater.  They are horrendous!  Do what the rest of us do and sneak in a snack.

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

