…..*ahem* just got real

I knew it was going to happen eventually.  But what bothers me is that it’s not like I have a shopping or drug problem. If you want to call working out and eating healthy a problem, then yes I have a problem!  Why does taking care of myself have to be so expensive??

I cannot be the only one who is burning a hole in her pocket over the holidays.  I know I tend to write about physical health but let’s switch to financial health for a second  I was raised to always pay off my credit card bill in full.

I.  Hate. Debt.

It makes me cringe.  Seeing a big fat zero when my credit card bill comes turns me on. But lately it’s been anything but.  That paired with hospital/dental bills and the amount of money that I am spending on food and CrossFit, some things just had to go and unfortunately CrossFit was the first on the list.

I’ve been CrossFitting for about 8 years so this was a hard decision.  Let me rephrase that, I’ve been a member of a box for 8 years so this was a hard decision.  I have successfully found a globogym that allows functional fitness and Olympic lifting.  And to take it step further, when I was there talking to member services I found out that at least 3 others from my old box go there!  SCORE!  Oh, oh oh…and they have daycare.

Say no more, I’m sold.

So making this switch is saving me about $150 a month….$1,800 a year.  Now this is a step in the right direction.  Next is getting rid of cable.

So now that I am switching gyms, I have to figure out my own programming and the beauty of the internet is that many coaches post their programming on their box website. Oh choices, choices!  I’m like a kid in a candy store!  So far I’m leaning towards The Outlaw Way.  I followed him before my wedding (thank you Rudy!) and I saw noticeable improvement.

Funny how a decision can make you feel like the weight of the world has been lifted off of your shoulders.  That’s a great way to start the new year!

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

